Children versus adults

NaBloPoMo August logoAs opposed to yesterday, when I thought I was rereading something I hadn’t previously looked at the text of, this book is one I’d forgotten I actually had previously owned (I think – I may have got it out of the library when I worked there).

23. Rainbow Valley by L. M. Montgomery

This is second-last (I think) in the Anne of Green Gables series, and even more than Rilla of Ingleside (the last I know of) is about Anne’s children and their friends rather than about Anne herself. I didn’t like this particular book this time as much as I had the previous time (I didn’t have either of these two books as a child, whereas I did have all the earlier ones, and read them several times – I only found out about these two a few years ago, and have read them each once or twice), largely because the adults seem to abnegate much of what should be their responsibility, and allow the wanton neglect of children they know. That would be one thing if it were the point of the novel, but really it’s not, and this benign neglect is in many ways applauded (or at least seen as intensely forgiveable), even though it seems out of character for many of those adults we have got to know in the previous books. (Which admittedly I haven’t reread in quite awhile.)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

