It might just be time…

My brother asked me awhile ago to write about computer games, and since I’ve just found out about another fun free (educational!) web game, I thought it was about time. The new one is a speed test of your knowledge of world places, and I need to practise, or learn some more, as I got to level six the first time and level five the second, but I hear of people getting to levels eleven and twelve, so clearly I have lots of space to progress.

In a similarly educational vein, but with the added benefit of donating rice to the World Food Program (through the modest adverts at the bottom of the screen is FreeRice. I’ve mostly given up on that now that I know I can get to level 50 (just did it now with only two errors holding me back along the way) but the words are good, as are most of the definitions/synonyms that come up. (I will argue that ‘pedantic’ in no way means the same thing as ‘bookish’ however, which was one of my ‘errors’ today.) The idea is to test and increase one’s vocabulary, and one can donate just as much cycling between levels 5-8 as between levels 45-48, so anyone who knows any English at all can learn from it. At the upper levels I’m often guessing at the multiple-choice answer based on my knowledge of parts of speech and probable derivations, meaning I might still might not get the exact connotation were I to come across the word in context, but then that would help in and of itself, of course.

For the sole benefit of relaxation (although there are some educational games there) I do have a Neopets account, although I don’t use it much these days (crocheting, Ravelry and blogging take up that function and time).

As for other types of computer games, I haven’t regularly played those for some years. One of the first things I do on taking possession of a computer is to disable the built-in games, because they are too easy time-wasters, unfortunately. (Which does mean I have played and enjoyed them in the past.) I have largely missed the cross-over of installed and online games, as I played the former before internet access became cheap and widespread enough for that interaction to be common.

I liked Tetris, and its offshoot Welltris quite a lot (and got very good at the former), and it’s puzzles or tests of knowledge that I generally prefer. I was never that good at SimCity, nor at Phantasmagoria, which I was given when it came out but probably would never have chosen. Thankfully I never got far enough into it to come across the horrific bits.

And that’s all I can remember right now. I’ll have to ask my brother to remind me of any others he can think of.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “It might just be time…”

  1. Ben Torode Says:

    Thanks Kate, that’s pretty much all the games I remember you playing, apart from Solitaire, although you implied you deleted that one. My games collection now amounts to more than 70 items, so I’m sure I can find you one that’s peaceful enough for you to enjoy! I’m not sure if there are many Jewish players of the Sims, though it is possible to build two separate kitchens if you had to keep them kosher! 😉 Talk to you later…

Leave a Reply

