Local Craft and Art

Crochet Haul
Another good haul, this time from the other charity shop on my way home. I paid three times as much, but I got the magazine rack (obviously to a far better purpose than magazines!), even more hooks, and lots of nice yarn to do some more scrumbles for the Pink Project. (There are two balls each of the grey and the peachy pink on the bottom left of the picture.) I haven’t decided yet will I use the grey as accents for that, or for teaching the kids to crochet. I now have lots of hooks for them, but not so much yarn!

36. The Best of British Scrapbooking and Cardmaking by Joanna Campbell Slan

It’s nice to see crafts treated as art, and this book nicely does that, without downplaying at all the craft, hobby and personal expression sides of scrapbooking. That isn’t something I’ve taken up, but I do admire the best pieces as art, and all for the deeper feelings. Seeing masses and masses of pages can give a twee feeling, but I’d recommend this book as one to take a look at, whether as a scrapbooker looking for tips and inspiration, or a non-scrapbooker seeing what can be done.

Right, back to getting ready for Shabbos!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Local Craft and Art”

  1. Joanna Campbell Slan Says:

    Kaet–I hope you’ll give scrapbooking a go. It can be as simple, or as complicated as you choose. Don’t let the number of examples overwhelm you. The best approach is to take just one that you really like and try to copy it. You can also use that yarn you found as accents. You know, the work in this book was so terrific that I was paralyzed for months afterwards, thinking, “I can’t do that!” And I can’t. But I can still have fun with my supplies.

    Thanks so much for the kind words–Happy Shabbos!

  2. Back to the good things « Kaet’s Weblog Says:

    […] Another scrapbooking book, but this one is a nice introduction to the craft, with interesting examples and easy-to-personalise how-tos of some effective layouts. I still amn’t ready to buy the equipment needed to get started (a single hook, ball of string and How To Crochet leaflet aren’t that big of a financial investment for beginning a new hobby) but I do get vicarious pleasure from knowing what to appreciate in the crafts of others. […]

Leave a Reply

