Past the block

Blocking the tablecloth did work, so I’m happy about that, if not happy that my camera has decided to not work. I think I’m going to have to get it repaired. I’m wondering about finally starting the Seraphina’s Shawl I’ve been planning for the alpaca yarn my mother gave me for my birthday. More on that to follow.

46. Barriers by Ruth Arieli

I just finished this on the way home from work, and it has its good and bad points. I’ll defer to these reviewers for local expertise, but as a story it mostly works. I wish there had been a lot more character development, and a bit more pathos to the mystery of the grandfather’s refusal to go to Eretz Yisrael. The various children don’t seem like their ages, particularly, and I really didn’t like the way Becky abandons without a second thought the one friend she had at preschool when she moves to her new school for first grade, specifically because she wants a better social life. Literally, the child is never mentioned again in the book, despite her poor background being made quite an issue. Surely one of the adults so involved with Becky should have raised the issue of her keeping in touch.

I’m still annoyed about this compulsory plot arc in current Jewish novels, where two storylines at different periods (one usually, but not always, during or near to WWII) gradually come together and are supposed to make something in the modern section of the story oh so meaningful. It’s got boring and intensely predictable. I’ll admit that Arieli pulls it off better than some, but really, can’t the influential editors call for something else?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

