Sewing up loose ends

58. Sew What! Skirts by Francesca Denhartog & Carole Ann Camp

See, when it’s a craft I don’t do, I can read the book as a book. (I haven’t put down Search PressBeginner’s Guide to Crochet by Pauline Turner that I skimmed at work today, again because I don’t really read crochet books – just skim them for what might be new or interesting to me.) Anyway, this (the skirts book) actually reads quite well, unlike many craft books, and seems to give very clear instructions as to making, improvising and embellishing one’s own skirts, with good personal fit and fashion.

59. Lord John and the Private Matter by Diana Gabaldon

I’ve read this a few times before, but am going back through all the Lord John stories now that I have the newest book (Lord John and the Hand of Devils) which includes the three shorter stories that sandwich the two novels. I like Lord John largely because he’s an interesting honourable man inside whose head we get to see. The mysteries of the stories are complete and engrossing, but not really the point for me (I amn’t someone who seeks the genre out).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sewing up loose ends”

  1. Still on last year’s books… « Kaet's Weblog Says:

    […] on last year’s books… By kaet Of course, by this date in 2008 I was nearly up to this number already, and here in February 2010 that’s the book number from 2009 I’m up to […]

  2. gerrie roozeboom Says:

    Translation boots Follow the yellow line: What means ‘tr’ in the abbreviations and starting from under the capitals: UK DS and SC ?
    Pattern from http://www.de-fil-en-aiguille.blogspot.com
    Thanking you in advance, Gerrie Roozeboom

    • kaet Says:

      tr is the treble stitch, as it’s known in UK terminology. In US crochet terms, that would be the double crochet (or DC). A UK DC is known in the US as a single crochet, or SC.

      I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

