Pages and Pages

I’ve added another blog page giving the recipe (rather than a proper pattern) for the baby blanket I made last year. This was done now as a tutorial for the latest instruction on the NatCroMo CAL page.

And I went through more books at work today. I enjoyed poring over all of them, although none of them are overly wordy!

63. Amigurumi by Annie Obaachan

There, a crochet book I actually read! (And I fully intend using some of its patterns in the near future as well.) There is a nice (concise and colourful) introduction explaining amigurumi as a very Japanese phenomenon, instructions on basic crochet stitches, Japanese charting, and designing one’s own little animals, and then come the patterns, which are lots of fun and appear to be very clear, although I haven’t actually tried using them yet.

64. Beadwork by Robin Bellingham, Hana Glover & Jema Hewitt

Clear, well laid out instructions and photographs mean this book’s inspirational qualities may actually work on me and all those beads in my room that just sit around looking pretty (when they aren’t all over the floor or hidden away in a box). It’ll have to wait until after NatCroMo and Pesach, though.

65. Bikes of Burden by Hans Kemp

I really feel like I get a sense of the daily speed and ingenuity of Vietnam’s streets through this book. The impression given may or may not be correct in everyone’s eyes, but it’s definitely vivid, and makes for impressive photography. This isn’t one for an on-duty food safety officer, however!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

