Reading Amusement

66. Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade by Diana Gabaldon

67. Lord John and the Hand of Devils by Diana Gabaldon

I finally finished my read of the whole Lord John sequence in order (the three stories/novellas in Hand of Devils sandwich the two novels) of which the last novella (“Lord John and the Haunted Soldier”) is the only one I hadn’t read before. This story is about the aftermath of one of the more minor events of Brotherhood, restoring that event to a significance even beyond the one Lord John thought it would have. There are rather a lot of major events of Brotherhood that aren’t referred to in more than passing, but it does need to be kept relatively short, and as Gabaldon has explained, she wrote these two at the same time, and was not given sufficient copy-editing time in between. The two books were published literally within days of each other in the USA, although annoyingly in the UK we had to wait months for Hand of Devils, for no discernible reason.

Anyhow, I was also checking through the silly number of programs I have on my computer, and noticing Family Tree Maker 2005 I wondered whether it would complain about Gabaldon’s time-travellers, so I made a new file and put in some of the characters from her main series. As I suspected, it didn’t much like someone from the 20th century getting married in the 18th, but not because they weren’t born yet, just because the bride was under ten years old! That made me giggle, anyhow.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Reading Amusement”

  1. Between two lists « Kaet’s Weblog Says:

    […] a bit of a cheat, since the first of 2009 is actually a reread of one from 2008 (last March, so not that recent), which I can’t do better than explain as I did on the […]

Leave a Reply

