Not that kind of photography

69. Magic Moments: The Greatest Royal Photographs of All Time by Arthur Edwards

Presuming I actually get around to getting my camera fixed sometime in the near-ish future, I’ll never take photographs like these. Largely because I have no desire to, of course, not being that much of a one for the celebrity culture, and not having been brought up a Royalist. Where I was brought up the British royal family were celebrities, I suppose, and often respected for their charitable work, but still symbols of that past colonial overlordship, and thus not fawned over.

Anyhow, Edwards is specifically a newspaper photographer, with an eye for the moment, the frame, and the ability to build up a relationship with his long-term subjects. This is so much not the kind of book I would have read for myself that it was actually quite interesting!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

