Destruction and Beauty

I felt the need to finish the Library of the Holocaust books, but to do so sooner rather than later, and then to read something completely different, so that’s what I did. The series, or rather the topic, brings me down, despite its importance, and I normally don’t read so much about it all at once. I prefer to focus and reflect on the personal stories, as more approachable, normally, but occasionally it’s worth reminding myself of the scale of this scar on humanity.

78. World Almanac Library of the Holocaust: Origins of the Holocaust by David Downing

This one discusses not just the 1920s and 1930s and Germany, but the ingrained Anti-Semitism across Europe and beyond over centuries and millennia.

79. World Almanac Library of the Holocaust: Fighting Back by David Downing

About the wide spectrum of resistance, from those keeping diaries and archives in secret to provide documentary evidence, going on with education and life beyond survival, through both Gentiles and Jews helping each other to survive, to the physical armed fighting back of the Ghetto uprisings and Resistance groups.

80. World Almanac Library of the Holocaust: Aftermath and Remembrance by David Downing

The ongoing impacts.

81. The Essential Rene Lalique by William Warmus

And this was my relief, showing beautiful jewellery and glasswork in the context of the time and Lalique‘s art and career. I had heard Lalique’s name, and that he had something to do with art glass manufacture, but I have now learnt a lot more, and did I have the time and money I think I would look into collecting some of his pieces. Although I don’t have the display space either! (I’ve discussed that before.) (Beware music on the company website.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Destruction and Beauty”

  1. Enough! « Kaet’s Weblog Says:

    […] have reviewed other artist biographies in this series before, but I especially like this one, despite some of the interpretations, perhaps […]

Leave a Reply

