Centuries

I’ve now made just over one hundred posts to this blog, and I’m up to one hundred books read in this civil year.

99.The Cave of the Yellow Dog by Byambasuren Davaa & Lisa Reich

This is a very well written and intriguing book. It describes Davaa’s journey to making the film of the same name (which I haven’t seen, although after many many recommendations I did see her other film, The Story of the Weeping Camel, which was wonderful), some of her experiences during the making, and the story portrayed in the film.

What it doesn’t do, is to distinguish the real life of the family portrayed from the pre-planned story the directors set up. The book does make slightly clearer than the other film did that this isn’t an absolutely straight documentary, but is never explicit about it. There is, of course, a large amount of overlap, which I think is part of the point of the exercise, but a bit of me would like to know more precisely about the Batchuluuns’ real lives. On the other hand, perhaps this way gives them some privacy back, while giving some of us non-Mongolians a taste of how this vast (and beautiful, by the many photographs in the book) but unfamiliar country and people are like and unlike ourselves.

100. Pharaoh and the Fabulous Frog Invasion by Osher Werner

This is a cute kids’ book, retelling the Plague of Frogs in Egypt from the frogs’ perspective. I got it for the family I’m going to for the Sedarim, and I’m crocheting some frogs to go along with it. (I’m pretty sure they don’t read the blog, and if the parents were to chance upon it they wouldn’t tell the kids.)
Frogginess
The finished frog is from Lion Brand Yarns Free Patterns, and the unfinished one a pattern from the Amigurumi Girl blog.

Just editing to credit my housemate with embroidering the frog’s face, since my embroidery skills are non-existent. Some day when she’s less stressed I’ll get her to teach me. Or just to keep doing it for me, as she doesn’t craft enough!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Centuries”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Looks like you are getting the hang of ami-making!

  2. kaet Says:

    And really enjoying it!

    I haven’t worked out how I want to do the legs of the dog I’m working on, so I thought I’d try some patterns for ideas.

  3. kaet Says:

    Oops! I forgot to say my housemate embroidered the frog’s face! My embroidery skills are non-existent…

  4. Catching Up with Pesach « Kaet’s Weblog Says:

    […] good retelling of a child’s approach to Passover. They seemed to like this year’s book (the frog one), and the toys I made to go with it as well, so I was most […]

  5. Reading more « Kaet's Weblog Says:

    […] the 2010 list finally hits double figures (only a month earlier in the year than the 2008 list hit triple, although admittedly the 2009 list never did that […]

Leave a Reply

