Slow and steady

Day 12 of the Omer

I’ve done some more on my granny square lap blanket, lesson 3 of the Braille Primer, and read another book at work. I could take and upload a picture of the first two, but it wouldn’t look particularly different from the latest photos you’ve seen already, so I’ll save on the memory. I’m feeling quite good about the braille letters now, although I can’t read words without working out each letter yet. I’ll get there. In tomorrow’s lesson I start on word contractions (abbreviations), so that’ll be more to remember.

I did go and vote this evening, as I felt I must, considering all the struggles major and minor for emancipation (including a few relatively very small ones of my own for my right to vote this time), even though I literally hadn’t decided who I would vote for by the time I was at the booth with ballot papers and pen in hand. I amn’t going to tell you who I did vote for, and to be honest were I to do it again I amn’t sure it’d come out exactly the same, but that’s the way these things go.

There’s been so much focus on the top two or three candidates for London Mayor that I’ve heard practically nothing at all about the candidates or parties standing for the London Assembly, and so the vote there had to be on party politics, which I don’t always think local elections automatically should be. But it’s done now, and all we can do is await the results.

110. Men’s Fashion Illustrations from the Turn of the Century ed. by Jean L. Druesedow

This book is similar to the one yesterday, with its introduction to the changing styles of fashionable dress during the covered period (here 1900-1910) for its subsection of the population. Whereas the plates in yesterday’s book were originally published in periodicals aimed directly at wealthier women, with children’s fashions shown alongside similar images of clothing for themselves, these plates appeared in supplements to the trade journal of gentlemen’s tailors, for the tailor to show his modish clients, rather than for the fashionable lady to show her dressmaker.

While fashions for gentlemen changed just as often as those for ladies, these modifications were much more subtle, and indeed many of the items would be just about wearable today, given the right setting. Putting aside the golfing plus-fours and sailing outfits, the only strikingly different aspect of the suits and overcoats was the fact that several (although not all, by any means) had very defined waist shaping, which I don’t believe is seen in men’s clothing today. Nothing that would be unusual in tailoring for women, but eye-catching on men, to my not-particularly-fashion-aware modern eyes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

