Quickly, quickly

Day 12 of the Omer.
The Secret Life of Cows

Shabbos is in an hour, my laptop is playing up, and I have burnt fingers, so this will be short. The bottom book in the picture is the one I finished rereading today, which is just lovely, and very interesting indeed. Beside it is my completed exercise 4 and the Braille Primer – I now know the most basic word contractions! – in the top right is the granny square blanket so far as I’d got last night, and the six books I got in a two-for-one deal at the charity shop (they didn’t have any yarn in).

The two books on the left I’ve heard bits of on the radio, the two in the middle I’ve heard commendations of, the Dodie Smith one I’ve had my eye out for, and the Christine de Pisan, well, that brings me straight back to my teen years when I discovered and did a major project on her for school.

I’ll fix the tags, links etc on this entry after Shabbos, and then tell you all I remember about de Pisan (and see does the internet agree with my memory.)

111. The Secret Life of Cows: Animal Sentience at Work by Rosamund Young

This account of several of the cows from the Youngs’ farm is well put together and a wonderful read, more convincing as to how intelligent and loving cattle, and indeed many of the other farm animals, can be, by its friendly style than it might be were it to evangelise.

Good Shabbos!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Quickly, quickly”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    I have several of Christine de Pizan’s books on my bookshelf. I would be interested to hear what you think of them and her writings.

    I studied her as part of a Solar program in a Medieval Reenactment group that I belonged to.

  2. Memories « Kaet’s Weblog Says:

    […] So, I said I’d recount what I remember of Christine de Pisan, before I reread the book […]

Leave a Reply

