Aaah!-nnoyed

The computer’s been playing up, still, and I’ve had hundreds of things on (some good ones, but they still throw my priority list out of the window) and basically I must just apologise, both for the horrendous delay in writing, and for how harsh I might have been in a previous post.

I’m mostly keeping up with the Braille lessons, and I had a great walk on Monday, during which I took lots of photos I’ve been trying to get up for you, but that’ll have to wait, but I’ve finished just three (I thought it was four, but have only noted down three) books, done hardly any crocheting, and no laundry. (No, thinking about it, there was one load; that’s okay then.) I did buy a little more yarn, but there’ll be more on that when I can put up more pictures and/or when I use it. I’m sorry there’s so little to say on the crochet, but even had I been doing more, the two blankets I’m working on aren’t really going to be very interesting again until I finish them, I think…

114. I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

This book is very well written and put together, and I can see why many have it as a lifetime favourite. Cassandra, the narrator, tells both the bad and the good of the dramatic changes in her family and its circumstances over several months, and while she doesn’t consciously foretell disaster, her “conscious naivete” does foreshadow problems, for the reader.

There are many levels of tension Cassandra is or becomes aware of (for example of class, finances, religious belief, love and attraction), but she obviously doesn’t know about the coming war. The book is set in the 1930s, but was first published in 1948/9, so the reader would always have known that Thomas and Steven are most likely destined for the army, and in fact, it might end up being a time of opportunity for Cassandra herself.

115. Everyday Dress of Rural America, 1783-1800 with instructions and patterns by Merideth Wright. Illustrated by Nancy Rexford

This will be of especial interest to those of you who are Diana Gabaldon fans, as it covers the period specifically that her books are getting to, and helps my imagination better see what the characters are likely to be wearing. This book is based on research done in and about Vermont, rather than North Carolina, but the basics will be very similar. The descriptions are clear and informative, as are the illustrations, and each chapter includes a basic pattern and discussion of materials especially for those hoping to recreate the clothing.

116. Recycled Crafts Box by Laura C. Martin

Lots of fun both to read and look through, and, I am sure, to follow and be inspired for. Plenty of information on recycling there too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

