Backtracking

I thought I’d read another book last week, and tonight I found where I’d noted down the details.

117. Shoes and Slippers from Snowshill by Althea Mackenzie

Despite forgetting about it over the following days, I did actually enjoy it. It’s reasonably short, and does exactly what it says on the cover. This is one of a series of pretty volumes, each focussing on a different aspect of the Snowshill collection. I haven’t read the others yet, but this one is most informative, with clear well-annotated photos of a good selection of shoes from the 18th Century.

120. Wildlife Monographs: Cheetahs by Dr Tracey Rich and Andy Rouse

This is my first in another attractive series I’m looking forward to delving into further. The photographs really are the main point, and are stunning. The text gives a very good introduction to cheetahs, but is a little repetitive, especially if you read the captions too! I don’t much like anthropomorphising (wild) animals, but there’s one full page shot of a mother cheetah licking the face of a fairly young cub, who has exactly the same style of frustrated scrunched up look of any child whose mother insists on wiping his/her face for them in public!

It is a shame that the cover fell off the book just as I finished reading it, as I can see this small tome being very useful to other readers, presuming my rough repair works.

121. People on the Move: Economic Migrants by Dave Dalton

Yet another series, and if the rest of it are this good I’ll be very pleased. Economic migration as defined here mostly covers people seeking to improve the lifestyle of themselves (by moving to a more prosperous environment) and/or their families (by bringing them along or sending money home), but also those driven off the land from Famine and the like, as well as those brought along forcibly as slaves.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

