The best kind of mountain

Room filled with boxes of books
This is a picture of eight of the boxes of my books we moved to the flat last night. (Um no, that isn’t all the books. It’s probably about half the ones I own. In this country.) (See, eight boxes doesn’t sound very much to me, but I’ve been given a maximum of one month (by my flatmate) to sort them out, take several to the charity shop, and get shelves for the rest. And then get those shelves into my room, which isn’t big.)

We didn’t just move the books, and bookcases, however. We also brought up a massive (and I mean massively heavy – it has a solid metal mechanism) sofa bed. Or rather, we (my flatmate and I) helped the delivery guy get it half way up the stairs, and then we all got stuck, with us above the sofa, it completely blocking the stairs, and the delivery guy at the bottom.

Panic struck, while we tried to think of local, strong, healthy males we could call upon. (This needed people bigger, heavier and stronger than us or any of our female friends, much as any underlying feminist principles might object. There are plenty of women who could have done this – we just don’t know any of them. We tried ourselves, and physically just couldn’t.)

So I wouldn’t blame the people we phoned (or their spouses) for not answering our calls for awhile (although we have no intention of requesting anything in the foreseeable future) but they were wonderful, dropped everything and really came to the rescue. (And were lovely about it in every way.)

The lessons learned:

  • We have wonderful friends and relations.
  • Always always always check on the size and weight of something that needs to go upstairs, even if it’s free!
Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “The best kind of mountain”

  1. Amanda Says:

    If it makes you feel any better, eight boxes doesn’t sound like a lot to me, either, lol! I recently combed through my books and sold quite a few, and I’ve really slowed down on book acquisition at hubby’s suggestion. I’m trying to get used to “borrowing” books from the library. It feels odd reading books that aren’t mine and then giving them back when I’m done. But I pat myself on the book for using reducing my consumption of goods.

  2. kaet Says:

    The thing is that I do borrow books as well. I have been trying to be better about only actually buying the books I’m pretty sure I’ll reread (which I do a lot) but I just can’t resist some of the bargains at the charity shops. And that’s recycling them too…

    Anyway, the picture is up now, so you can see the space I’ve got to fit them into, and that the shelves in the visible bookcase simply aren’t tall enough for most of my books! (I can fill it from the smaller ones, so that isn’t a problem.)

  3. Peneplane Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation šŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Peneplane!

Leave a Reply

