Greenery

It’s been a quiet (read unmemorable) but nice weekend. The weather has been fairly stormy today, so I only went out in the evening, but caught up on some things at home. I continue to work my way through thick books and large crochet projects, so there’s little to report, I’m afraid.

191. All About Compost: Recycling household and garden waste by Pauline Pears

I grew up with a small bin in the kitchen for compostable waste, which got emptied once (or more) each day onto the compost heap(s) at the end of the garden, so it’s been a big relief to have one of those small bins again in the flat. We don’t have our own compost heap, living in an upstairs flat, but we do have a green bin for food and garden waste that the council collects each week.

I really dislike throwing vegetable peelings and the like in the rubbish. I didn’t have the choice before, but putting that kind of thing into landfill (or incineration) makes absolutely no sense, as it makes the rubbish smell while still in the house, and then simply bulks out the waste, often contaminating what might be recyclable.

As this book clearly and graphically shows, food and garden waste should, and can easily be, fed back into the cycle of growth, providing fertility, moisture retention and added nutrition to more produce. The book is, of course, aimed at those who will do the composting in their own gardens, for their own use, and shows a variety of techniques for managing and taking advantage of the chosen system, but I found it of interest both in terms of how my family manages theirs, and also how our fruit peel and hedge trimmings (etc.) decompose and become part of a more industrialised version.

Hm, my borough (which I won’t be identifying) explains exactly how they process what comes out of the bins to make it into rich compost, but not what they do with that compost! Presumably they use some in the parks and green spaces, but does that take all of it? Do they sell some to other institutions, or to the public? I have no idea.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Greenery”

  1. Amanda Says:

    We bought a house a couple of months ago, and I was so excited to be able to compost. I hate throwing things away that could be composted! My husband just scratches his head and sighs, but I told him we were not going to pay for mulch and compost when we have everything we need here in our yard (and kitchen). I keep a large bowl with a lid near my sink, and all my fruit and veggie peelings, coffee grounds, tea bags, egg shells, etc go in. Everyday I make a trip to the back of the yard where I dump it on the heap. When I plant a garden next spring, I should have a good amount of compost, lol.
    I wish our city had a program that picked up compostables for city use. So many people throw away their grass clippings and tree trimmings, that in the long run it would save the city a lot money and landfill space.

  2. kaet Says:

    It’s only in the last couple of years that councils have begun taking compostable waste here, so maybe yours will get there eventually too.

Leave a Reply

