Close to home

I want my crocheting inspiration back! I’m too hot to work with anything big, but I amn’t getting on with the small projects either.

220. Memoir of Jane Austen by James Edward Austen-Leigh

I still amn’t clear as to how much time the author of this memoir personally spent with his aunt, but he does quote several other members of the family, as well as letters and other documents, throughout the account. There is a definite 19th Century style, but I enjoyed listening, and now appreciate more of where Jane Austen was coming from as a novelist, which is presumably the point. There are several readers through the book, but they are all quite reasonable, and some very good.

221. Moonfleet by John Meade Falkner

Somewhere among my childhood books should be a copy of this (although it probably originally belonged to one of my parents), but I don’t think I got very far with it then. I’ve enjoyed it this time, however, although I think many of the morals and ethics apparently learned by the young hero, and indeed generally espoused by the protagonists, are … interesting.

Not, I suppose, that one couldn’t say the same for the protagonists of Niccolo Rising. Chapter 2 had me landing on a line that I wish could have been true, throughout the series, even if it is possible here, both for the character who says it and for those around him: “‘We will have care in the future. We did nothing with malice, nor ever will.'” It seems to me now that much of what goes wrong later on is because they forget or ignore these principles. (Which isn’t to take away the blame from those who act consistently with malice.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

