Reading bits

I’ve been avoiding the boring part of my filet pattern (I do more when travelling to outings or sitting about with people) by doing a good bit of proofreading (and some formatting) over at Distributed Proofreaders over the last few days, increasing my skills and pushing through some slow-moving French works. I don’t usually read much directly from Project Gutenberg – mostly I listen to Librivox works that use texts from PG, but as I don’t want to commit to recording, this is still a good way to give something back. I’m also enjoying actually using my French.

I couldn’t do that over Shabbos, however, so instead I retreated into nostalgia, reading through a gorgeous book my grandparents gave me on my third birthday.

237. Baby Animals by Jane Burton

As the introduction admits, this is really about baby mammals, rather than animals in general, but it’s no less informative or cute for that. Burton is a great photographer, and I rather like how she’s themed the pages. I’m presuming I’ve read the text cover to cover before, at some point, but I really couldn’t swear to it!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

