Life energy

The books I’m finally getting around to discussing today don’t really have anything in common at all (the title’s the smallest stretch I could make for it), so here goes:

2. Essential Energy: Energy from Fossil Fuels by Robert Snedden

This is both informative and readable, as well as well laid out and comprehensive without diverting too far from the stated subject.

3. Amadans by Malachy Doyle

Doyle is an author I’ve heard of, but hadn’t read anything by, so when the title caught my eye in a charity shop I thought it would be worth the read. It’s a rather self-consciously modern fairy story (contact and transfer between the human and amadan worlds is via the internet), and I didn’t find it very subtle, but it’s fun.

4. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

I did listen to this from start to finish via Librivox, but still dithered about counting it yet, as I did so only to listen to it again on Craftlit. Heather has just started the novella over there, and said that for a change she’s going to assume we all know the end as she commentates throughout, so those of us who didn’t should listen now. Which I did, and it’s very interesting, although I didn’t find it quite as convincing or creepy as I had expected to. I’ll have to give you a better review in the spring when she finishes it.

5. My Life on Wheels by Shaindy Perl

I’m going to revert to my overused phrase “thought provoking” for this one. It’s a very open and honest account of living with severely disabling cerebral palsy by a very thoughtful and expressive young woman, as recounted by an experienced biographer. The book is not as upbeat as many of the Jewish ‘medical’ biographies currently out, although Breindy H. is not always negative either. What she is, is clear about the good things and people in her life (and she seems to have a gift for making good friends out of those who make the effort to get past her difficult speech), but also about the many difficulties that continue to face her. I would say this is definitely worth reading for those interested in CP issues, and for adults who want to be inspired, but it might be difficult for some adolescents to see past some of the more dramatic incidents in the book to the valuable lessons it contains.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

