Taking lines in various media for a walk

Before I started crocheting, I used to doodle quite a lot, in pen, or markers. This is an extreme (bigger and more detailed) version of the type, from a few years ago:
detailed blue line curving around A4 page

When I began playing with painting, I tried out the same idea there too:
Water-colour line-walk, half filled in with colours
(I never finished filling this one in, because I got put off by the smudge in the middle.)

So now I’m trying to get back into freeform crochet, and the new UK Freeformers group on Ravelry suggested various techniques for surface decoration, which I thought I’d try:
purple half treble ground, pink surface decoration

That began to look like one of my old line-walks, so I decided to continue. I haven’t quite finished it, but should be able to do that on the way home today.
purple half treble ground, pink surface decoration

I like abstract stuff, and it’s nice to find some continuity with what I’ve always done.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Taking lines in various media for a walk”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Do you plan on doing the freeform crochet-along again in March? That was so much fun last year!

  2. kaet Says:

    Yes, I’ve decided to do another freeform game this year, and I’m looking forward to beginning!

Leave a Reply

