A Shawl in Eight Days

There are a whole stack of books to catch up on, but I’m still engrossed in the shawl that’s been taking most of my non-working time recently. Last June I began working on Tracey’s Mystery Shawl, and for a variety of reasons it never got finished, largely because the yarn was annoying me in its slipperiness, and then because I mislaid the whole project.

Then in January I told you that my brother had given me the yarn for another shawl. I held off from beginning it until I’d got my latest assignment handed in. That was on Tuesday nearly two weeks ago, and then I slept away the evening. On Wednesday I printed out the full pattern and charts for this shawl (I had considered a few, and may well make some of the other contenders some time, but wanted to finally make this one), and took it, my bag of yarn, and some assorted hooks to the knitting etc group after work.

Now the pattern suggested lace weight yarn, and I had worsted, so obviously the suggested hook size would be no use at all. I started off, then, with my nice bamboo 6.5mm, but after 7 rows it was a bit stiff and solid, rather than nice and lacy, like I wanted. So, with group encouragement, I began again, on the second ball of the main colour, with my plastic 8mm hook, consoling myself that I could always begin with that, and then go buy myself a nice 8mm hook. But it still wasn’t giving quite the desired effect, so I pulled out my wooden 10mm for ball number three, and that’s the one that did it. From right to left, here are the three swatches:
3 swatches
Besides the laciness, the other advantage of the larger hook is sheer speed, and by the time I got home that night I had a decent sized collar:
collar sized grey shawl
Over the next week working away at this shawl was my commuting activity, and seeing as I commute 2-3 hours per weekday, that adds up pretty quickly. I didn’t take any more pictures until the following week’s meet-up (so this past Wednesday), by the end of which I had finished the main colour, and had a real shawl, if an unfinished one:
worn shawl
And then next morning on the way to work I did the blue border:
finished shawl
I wore it this Shabbos, appreciated its warmth, and got a couple of nice compliments, and now I’m thinking about making Tracey’s next shawl too… (She’s publishing the clues during March, as NatCroMo again. Watch this space for a new NatCroMo Freeform game as well.)

I’m planning on blocking it this week.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “A Shawl in Eight Days”

  1. Sandy Says:

    Kaet. the shawl looks beautiful. SO glad you were able to finish it. I always felt bad that I never got mine done but that Patons Lacette was just a total PITA to work with and frogging was next to impossible. Combine that with the problems I had with the pattern and its been sitting in a bag since June. But I have been itching to try the pattern again with a different yarn, so I ordered some Crystal Panda Silk and I am going to give it another go.

    I, too, am going to try Tracie’s new Mystery Shawl….I feel almost embarrassed to join in but since it already been tested, I might have an easier time this time. Not to mention that I am using Classic Elite’s Silky Alpaca, which weill be much easier to work with. Hope you can join in, too!

    Sandyhook

  2. kaet Says:

    Thanks Sandy. I hope it works out as well for you the second time through!

  3. Maven Says:

    I love how even with non-lace projects, if you use large crochet hooks the effect is very open and lacy and the drape is very nice.

    Lovely shawl, so far! 🙂

Leave a Reply

