Insomniac Book Recall

Time to catch up on the Reading 2009 list a little…

29. A Victorian Childhood: At School by Ruth Thomson

This is an informative, well-illustrated series, with this a good example of it. It’s certainly aimed at a primary school audience, but is not to be scorned for older children.

30. Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn

This is one of my favourite novels, and I’m rather surprised I didn’t reread it in 2008 as well. It’s epistolary (told through letters exchanged between various of the characters), which is the perfect format to show the severe loss of letters in this independent island off North America. Funny, clever, literate (far more than I at 4am…) with characters to be cared about. What’s not to like?

ETA: I’ve had a verbal comment that my readers are going to know what ‘epistolary’ means, and to be honest, in the light of day I’m sure you all will, but as the title and text suggest, I wrote this post in the middle of the night, when I wasn’t so sure.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Insomniac Book Recall”

  1. Dona Says:

    I didn’t know what epislotary meant — so thanks for the definition!

Leave a Reply

