This machine nearly stopped

(Our router reset itself this evening, and had it taken too much longer to sort out, I mightn’t have got a blog post in tonight, which would have put me out of NaBloPoMo again. However, here I still am, for now!)

More from 2009:

69. The Machine Stops by E. M. Forster

I had a bit of déjà vu listening to this, so it is possible I had previously read or heard this, but if so it was a long time ago. I don’t think of Forster as a science fiction author, being more familiar with A Room with a View and his other turn of the (nineteenth) century novels. This is a well-plotted and thought out sci-fi story, however, and I may have to seek any more such of his. It warns of the dangers of becoming so dependent on machine interventions with the world that we lose the point in life, and is a timely occasional reminder!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

