An individual list

The thing about these lists is that there’s a lot of agreement – many of the same books just keep coming up, which is part of why I haven’t been commenting much on individual entries. Just the way this list worked out, however, there seem to be more titles that I’ve read part of, or have other things to say about, so there will be occasional comments. Not many, however. This is one I just found randomly online, and is one (seemingly well read) person’s opinion, but then so much of reading is!

As before books I’ve read are bolded, and linked if I’ve previously discussed them here, with just the author bolded if I’ve read others of their works but not this. Authors are linked haphazardly. As suggested by Yelena on last week’s list I’m going to mark where I recall having seen a film, play or other dramatisation of the book. Books You Must Read by D. J. McAdam

  1. Plato, The Republic (I read some of this as a teenager. Possibly all of it. In English translation.)
  2. Homer, The Odyssey
  3. William Shakespeare – One really must read all of Shakespeare (Perhaps, but I’m in no hurry. I’ve seen several of the plays in the theatre and some in the cinema/on television as well. I studied The Merchant of Venice, Hamlet and several sonnets in school, and have also simply read King Lear, Macbeth and The Taming of the Shrew.)
  4. Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights (A very strange book I’m in no hurry to reread, ever. I don’t recall seeing a film version.)
  5. Nathaniel Hawthorne, The House of the Seven Gables
  6. Alexandre Dumas, The Count of Monte Cristo
  7. Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities (I may have seen a film of this, MANY years ago.)
  8. Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol (My favourite dramatisation of this probably remains Patrick Stewart’s reading, but I’ve seen others too.)
  9. Wilkie Collins, The Woman in White. (Listening to it on Craftlit at the moment.)
  10. Owen Wister, The Virginian
  11. Fyodor Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment
  12. Franz Kafka, The Trial
  13. Ernest Hemingway, The Sun Also Rises
  14. James Joyce, Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
  15. Mary Shelley, Frankenstein (Seen this.)
  16. Herman Melville, Moby Dick (Seen this.)
  17. Edgar Allan Poe, Complete Short Stories
  18. Ralph Waldo Emerson, Collected Essays
  19. Henry David Thoreau, Walden.
  20. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings (I actually haven’t seen the recent-ish big budget films. I think they showed us the old cartoons in primary school.)
  21. Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre (Seen this on stage and screen.)
  22. Arthur Conan Doyle, The Hound of the Baskervilles
  23. Geoffrey Chaucer, The Canterbury Tales
  24. Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray
  25. Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Stage and screen.)
  26. Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (I was certainly read some of this as a child. Not sure about all of it.)
  27. Hermann Hesse, The Glass Bead Game
  28. Bram Stoker, Dracula (I don’t think I was in our school production of this, but I have seen Nosferatu!)
  29. Jonathan Swift, Gulliver’s Travels
  30. Benjamin Franklin, Autobiography
  31. Jack London, The Call of the Wild
  32. Henry James, The American
  33. Edith Wharton, Ethan Frome
  34. Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness
  35. Aldous Huxley, Brave New World
  36. George Orwell, Animal Farm (The cartoon doesn’t do this justice at all.)
  37. Dashiell Hammett, The Maltese Falcon
  38. Raymond Chandler, The Big Sleep
  39. P. G. Wodehouse, Carry On, Jeeves (I’ve certainly read some Jeeves, but not sure of the titles. Also seen several of the Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie television versions.)
  40. Jules Verne, A Journey to the Center of the Earth
  41. Daniel Defoe, Robinson Crusoe
  42. Robert Louis Stevenson, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  43. Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Idiot
  44. Sherwood Anderson, Winesburg, Ohio
  45. Henry James, Daisy Miller
  46. E. W. Hornung, Raffles, The Amateur Cracksman
  47. Henry James, Washington Square
  48. James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson
  49. Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged.
  50. F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby
  51. John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath (Studied this in school)
  52. Hermann Hesse, Demian
  53. Hermann Hesse, Steppenwolf
  54. Albert Camus, The Stranger
  55. Jack Kerouac, On the Road
  56. Leo Tolstoy, War and Peace
  57. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (Screen and possibly stage.)
  58. George Orwell, 1984
  59. Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet
  60. Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass
  61. Sun Tzu, The Art of War
  62. Thomas Paine, Common Sense and Other Essays
  63. Marcus Aurelius, Meditations (This was just roundly reviled by a minor character in a book, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, I’m reading at the moment. He had read it on the strong recommendation of a friend, however.)
  64. Erich Maria Remarque, All Quiet on the Western Front (I think this is one we were supposed to study in school, but never got to.)
  65. St. Augustine, Confessions (Unlikely I’ll ever read this one, to be honest.)
  66. Miguel de Cervantes, Don Quixote (I started a very good translation of this, but had to give it back to the library when I moved. I should try again.)
  67. W. Somerset Maugham, The Razor’s Edge
  68. H. G. Wells, The Time Machine (Need to get to this one. I have seen the film.)
  69. Aldo Leopold, A Sand County Almanac
  70. Sun Tzu, The Art of War
  71. Anne Rice, The Witching Hour
  72. Lee Child, Die Trying

Not sure I’m entirely consistent in my memory of some of what I read long ago, but nevermind…

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “An individual list”

  1. kloppenmum Says:

    I really like the look of that list. Many books on it I’ve intended to read for a while. I can feel motivation increasing!

  2. yelenam Says:

    Thanks for the mention 🙂 #1 on your list – Plato, The Republic – reminded me of the time I first met my future hubby. He was reading The Republic back then. So I thought one way for me to “get him” would be to be able to talk about the books he read. Later on he admitted that he felt the same about my mentions of Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment.

Leave a Reply

