Hearing the World

I’m going to stick with more simple discussions of books for the very young for now.

Cover of Noisy

Cover of Noisy

23. Noisy by Shirley Hughes

This is a rhythmic and (being Shirley Hughes) beautifully illustrated evocation of the noises in the life of a young girl and her baby brother. As she plays in and watches the world the parents are in the background doing the housework (both mother and father) and occasionally trying to relax (usually when the kids are at their loudest).

Each square page is mostly filled with a single illustration, each with one or two lines of text to go with it and the size seems nice for sharing with a small number of children. I’m not sure a large group would get much out of the pictures, although it might still work well as lead-in to a discussion of other noises in their world.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Hearing the World”

  1. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    We’ve got a few Shirley Hughes books, and the kids love them. Haven’t seen this one before, but she does often have Mum and Dad doing the parenting, or the housework. Love that.

  2. hakea Says:

    Hi Kaet

    I’m wondering if the children would be able to make the noises that are featured in the book? I’m always looking for books to engage the children in a physical way.

    Do you know of any books that the children can reproduce the actions in the book? I do a songs, stories, and rhymes session in the park for families, and the books I like to read are those that get the kids moving or making sounds, and also ones that I can link in with songs.

    So, for example, if I read “Dinosaur Roar” the children pretend to be dinosaurs whilst I am reading, then we sing songs like “Dance Dino” and “Long Ago”.

    Another good one was “The Foot Book” by Dr Seuss.

    I’m having trouble finding books that are good for this purpose.

    • kaet Says:

      Hi Hakea

      Certainly some of the noises can be made there and then (although I doubt anyone’ll appreciate your encouraging the kids to smash plates, which is one). Singing and dancing, percussion with the pots and pans, and banging doors feature, as do (in the quieter part of the book) rustling leaves on the ground and on the tree, which’d go well with the park. I suspect this would be a very good one for that kind of session, actually.

      One of the board books I discussed a few months ago, Pajama Time, is quite energetic, and might work.

      If I think of any more I’ll let you know.

      Actually, there is a vague possibility I still need to discuss, so maybe I’ll write that up now as tomorrow’s post.

Leave a Reply

