For a purpose

Cover of "A Book About The Four Seasons (...

Cover of A Book About The Four Seasons (blr)

I mightn’t have got to discussing this yet, but I think it might be of interest to one of my blog buddies, Hakea, so here goes.

41. Caps, Hats, Socks & Mittens: A Book About the Four Seasons by Louise Borden

Basically this is a book of drawings and statements of things that happen during the four seasons, from a mid to northern US perspective. (Winter is snowy, summer is hot, spring and autumnfall are distinguishable and the flags and cultural events are American.) For each season we get expected weather, activities, food and clothes, along with drawings of kids enjoying themselves appropriately.

Honestly, I think this book could be great for inspiring discussions about the different seasons and favoured activities etc. The downside is that I don’t find it to read all that comfortably as a single entity. I think I want it to be poetic, and it really isn’t (and doesn’t claim to be).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “For a purpose”

  1. hakea Says:

    Hi Kaet

    I picked this book up yesterday from the post office. I think it’s lovely. Although as you say it is very American. But as my early childhood lecturers said, children need to know that autumn is called fall in other countries, and they have snow (we don’t). It will be a great discussion starter about the seasons at playgroup.

    Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

