Who Did You Say?

Horton Hears a Who!

Image via Wikipedia

65. Horton Hears a Who by Dr Seuss

I know this is one of the best known Dr Seuss books, but I hadn’t ever read it, so far as I can recall, until now. DH found this and the two Cat in the Hat Books I also read DD tonight in a 2nd hand bookshop a few weeks ago, so he read them to her first. I think she’s getting more of a sense of us doing something she’s supposed to enjoy when we read to her now, but at five months she’s not really clamouring for stories as yet. There’s time for that to come!

So, in this story Horton the elephant is enjoying a cool splashy pool in the Jungle of Nool, when he hears a voice coming from a speck of dust floating past, and striking up an acquaintance with the mayor of Whoville, which is located on the dust mote, he decides to protect their little world from potential accident. Unfortunately, his very taking notice of the Whos is rather the cause of most of their danger, since some of the other creatures in the jungle decide that Horton’s hearing imaginary voices rather than those of microscopic creatures, and to shake him out of it they decide to get rid of the flower into which he’s placed the mote…

As with the Cat in the Hat stories, there’s a fair bit of apparently good willed arrogance and really bullying in this story, but things do work out in the end (if not so much along the way). I suppose that means there’d be lots to discuss during and after reading the rhythmically rhyming story with all the bounce and verve the words demand.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Who Did You Say?”

  1. thiskidreviews Says:

    I like Horton Hears a Who and I really didn’t like The Cat in the Hat. I think the cat is kind of mean to the fish. My favorite Dr. Seuss book is “would you rather be a bullfrog?” It is very different than a lot of Dr. Suess books and there are no mean cats or bully animals!

  2. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    We have a lot of Dr Suess books but not this one. The kids love to hear them read aloud.

  3. Yelena Says:

    Both I and my son love this book! I actually found a Russian version at our library (I’ve never read the original though). I just wish more Dr. Seuss’ books were translated into Russian.

Leave a Reply

