Don’t read this while pregnant

Cover of "Darwin's Radio"

Cover of Darwin's Radio

That was my husband’s advice about this book (not that we had it while I was, but I think he was pleased about that himself, to be honest).

66. Darwin’s Radio by Greg Bear

This is one of those science-fiction stories which demand the acceptance of a big premise to work, and in this case it’s a bit too easy to pick holes in that premise as presented, particularly in the first half of the book. Weirdly enough, even though I didn’t find the science to be well defended until the second half, it was only really then that there started to be real emotional weight for me either. There are hugely emotive events and ideas at play throughout the book, and yet in the first half we really only meet stereotypically detached (and often very cynical) scientists and administrators. If my DH hadn’t previously intrigued me about the story and the issues raised I’m really not sure I’d have got far enough to engage with the book.

Not that the second half is perfect either. While the original premises are explained, developed and justified (somewhat), new and completely fantastical ones are introduced, and the romantic/familial storyline is brought to a climax just at the end of the book, without a satisfactory conclusion, in my opinion. That storyline seems a set-up for a sequel, which apparently does exist, but which I haven’t come across. I’d probably read it if I came across it, but not go out of my way to do so.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Don’t read this while pregnant”

  1. phrogmom Says:

    oooh, i read this one! i love greg bear! was this the one about the viruses? one of my faves by him was moving mars.

Leave a Reply

