Multiple Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 1

NaBloPoMo August logoIt’s taken a long time, and a few (very polite and gracious) reminders, but I’m finally going to try to write up my flower petal blanket in detail. The recipe is still there for anyone who prefers that, but this is a good opportunity for me to crochet another (for progress pictures) and make some improvements (perhaps this one will lay flat more easily than the first did).

I’m planning on using the suggested number of increases per round given on page 143 of Edie Eckman‘s The Crochet Answer Book (a very useful little tome, which I probably won’t get around to reviewing better on the blog, since it’s a dip-into sort of book, rather than one to read straight through). I’m hoping this will help when I stagger out to using longer stitches in the later rounds.

To save myself time, I’m going to write this using UK stitch names,  but may convert it later. Stitch abbreviations, then, are:

  • ss – Slip stitch
  • dc – double crochet (US single crochet)
  • htr – half treble crochet (US half double crochet)
  • tr – treble crochet (US double crochet)
  • dtr – double treble crochet (US treble crochet)
  • blo – back loops only
  • flo – front loops only

The petal (in front loops only) is as described in the recipe:

ss in first stitch, (dc, htr) in next stitch, 2tr in next stitch, dtr in next stitch, 2tr in next stitch, (htr, dc) in next stitch. Repeat all the way around. End with ss in last stitch to end petal.

  • So, round one is 6dc in a magic loop. Join with ss.
  • stitches in magic loop
    Don’t pull it too tight (like I did)!
    magic loop pulled together

  • Round 2: do one petal in flo of R1.
  • With first petal

  • R3: in blo of R1 do 2dc in each stitch. (12 dc)
  • R4: Two petals in flo of R3.
  • after 2 petal round

  • R5: In blo of R3 do *2dc in first stitch, 1dc in next stitch. Repeat from * till end of round. (18 dc)
  • R6: Three petals in flo of R5.
  • after 3 petal round

  • R7: In blo of R5 do *1dc in each of first two stitches, 2dc in next stitch. Repeat from * till end of round. (24 dc)
  • back/flat side view at this point

  • R8: Four petals in flo of R7.
  • front with 4 petal round

I’ll have to continue this another time (it’s a bit late tonight), but I hope this has clarified what’s going on. One could simply continue like this in pattern, but I’ll write up how I make the petals come further apart later on on in the piece. Please let me know if anything is still unclear!

Part 2 is here.

Part 3.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Multiple Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 1”

  1. Multiple Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 2 « Kaet's Weblog Says:

    […] Kaet's Weblog My crochet, reading, and other cultural outlets. « Multiple Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 1 […]

  2. Multiple Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 3 « Kaet's Weblog Says:

    […] Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 3 By kaet This post continues from part 1 and part 2 in elaborating the basic recipe for my Many Petalled Baby Blanket. (Sample […]

  3. Giacopini Loredana Says:

    ciao sono loredana dall’italia potresti spiegarmi meglio il procedimento di questa rosa mi piace molto ciao lory e grazia

Leave a comment