Multiple Layer Crochet Flower Petals – in detail – part 3

This post continues from part 1 and part 2 in elaborating the basic recipe for my Many Petalled Baby Blanket. (Sample project’s public Ravelry page.)

As I said yesterday (in part 2), do continue in the htr pattern for as many repeats as you see fit. (This will mean your round numbers and stitch counts will be different from mine, but I hope it is still clear what to do. Let me know if I can clarify anything.) I am going to move straight on to the tr part of the pattern, so that I can show it to you sooner.

  • R15: In blo of R13, *2tr in first htr, 1tr in each of next 3htr. Repeat from * to end of round. (60 tr)
  • after first tr round

  • R16: In flo make 10 petals.
  • 10 petals around

  • R17: In blo of R15, *tr in each of first 4tr, 2tr in next tr. Repeat from * to end of round. (72 tr)
  • back of piece at this point

  • Continue in pattern (increase by 2 petals in each flo round; increase by 12 tr in each blo round).
  • End with a petal round in both loops.

Some general tips for this pattern:

  • Don’t worry about the front loops getting pulled too large, as these will be tightened up in the back loop rounds.
  • If you use more than one colour, change at the beginning of a round, or potentially during an increase round, as this won’t be seen as much as during a petal round.
  • one petal row in new colour

  • Bear in mind that this makes for a thick blanket! For the same reason (roughly double the normal stitches of a similarly sized item) it will take more yarn than you expect.
  • Once you’re doing a stable number of increases per round, crochet-friendly stitch markers are your friend!
  • back of piece with 12 stitch markers showing

  • If the previous round had a useful multiple of petals, those can help with increase placement. (In the picture below increases are made between each petal, for 12.)
  • arrow marks increase between petals

I think that pretty much ends my tutorial/pattern expansion. I’ll blog more pictures when it’s finished. Do let me know if there’s anything still to clarify. I’d love to see how you use the pattern or techniques!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment